Advisory board

The Gonski Institute for Education is guided by an Advisory Board that includes senior members of the UNSW community, leaders of industry, business, government and philanthropy, and school practitioners and leaders.

The Advisory Board plays an important role in the development and success of the Institute by providing considered advice and recommendations on priorities. Advisory Board Members support the Institute’s mission and goals.

Advisory Board Members

Honorary Professor, Dr John Vallance AM

Chair, Gonski Institute for Education Advisory Board

Professor Claire Annesley

Dean, Arts, Design and Architecture, UNSW Sydney

Professor Kim Beswick

Director, Gonski Institute for Education

John Bush

Head, School Age Learning, Paul Ramsay Foundation

Malcolm Elliot

Fellow, Australian Council for School Leadership

Professor Verity Firth

Vice President, Societal Impact, Equity and Engagement, UNSW Sydney

Associate Professor Tony Loughland

Head of School of Education, UNSW Sydney

Professor Sarah Maddison

Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Education & Student Experience, UNSW Sydney

Mary Teague

Director (Access, Equity & Inclusion), UNSW Sydney

Danielle Toon

Director of Evidence for Learning, Social Ventures Australia

Eddie Woo

Leader, Mathematics Growth Team, New South Wales Department of Education

Professor of Practice, Sydney School of Education and Social Work, University of Sydney